



Contemporary Showcase Festival Toronto

Awards Concert and Presentation

Sunday, December 8, 3:00pm

Master of Ceremonies - Joseph Glaser,

Composer and Regional Director of the Canadian Music Centre

Order of Performances

Clown Capers by Linda Niamath - Gillian Fraser and Ross Fraser, piano

Tribute to Carmanah by Jean Coulthard – Miles Nghiem, cello, Christine Kim, piano

Echoes on Deception Lake by Laura Pettigrew – Athena Ninos, flute, Christine Kim, piano

Dragonfly Scherzo by Anne Crosby Gaudet - Daiki Seguchi, piano

Miimii by Barbara Assiginaak - Taisei Bakker, piano

Grey Rocks and Greyer Seas by Martha Hill Duncan - Ashley Olah, voice, Daisy Leung, piano

Lullaby in Black and White by Ruth Watson Henderson – Emily Slavik, piano

Été Canadien by Andre Mathieu – Serena Kuang, piano

Sirens by Connor Mahon – Sacora Piano Trio: Salma Khakimov, violin, Ryan Yin, cello, Connor Mahon, piano



Designated Awards

Presented by Janet Fothergill

The Dianne and Robert Aitken Award

This award was established in 2006 to recognize promising flutists in the Contemporary Showcase Festival's Toronto Centre.

This year, the following performers are recognized:

KRISHNA MALLIPATNA and JIANI BAI

The Mary Gardiner Award (Toronto)

This award was established several years ago to honour our long- time president. It is presented to students who participated for several years in Contemporary Showcase Festival, at a high level of performance. These performers are encouraged to apply for the corresponding National awards, via YouTube.

This year, the following performers are recognized:

MILES NGHIEM and NATHAN LAU

The Oscar Peterson School Award

This award was established in 2016 in recognition of the partnership between the Royal Conservatory School and the Contemporary Showcase Festival, Toronto Centre.

This year, the following performers are recognized:

WILLIAM DINSMORE, LUCAS LESANI and EMMETT MILLS

The Remenyi Award

This award was established in 2015 by Rosa Remenyi who enthusiastically supports and encourages young musicians to explore and perform Canadian contemporary music.

This year, the following performers are recognized:

SERENA KUANG and JUSTIN LEE



The Elaine Kruse Memorial Award

Established in 2008 and to be presented to promising young pianists, this award honours Elaine's long-standing association with ACNMP and the Contemporary Showcase Festival – Toronto Centre. Elaine's leadership as president, her vision as a chairperson, and her unique and special guidance as a teacher encouraged us to recognize her in this manner, being one of Alliance's outstanding advocates of Canadian music.

This year, the following performers are recognized:

MLIAN GODARA and AVI KHARE

The Mary Hildebrand Award of Excellence (Toronto)

This award was established in 2014 to honour Mary Hildebrand, a teacher, composer, and dedicated supporter of Contemporary Showcase. It is presented to one senior solo participant each year. This performer is encouraged to apply for the corresponding National award, via YouTube.

This year, the following performer is recognized:

SACORA TRIO (Salma Khakimov, Connor Mahon, Ryan Yin)

The Ann Southam Award (Toronto)

This award was established in 2018 to honour Ann Southam, a teacher, composer, and dedicated supporter of Contemporary Showcase. It is presented to one junior and one senior participant each year. This award is at the discretion and financial responsibility of each individual centre. This performer is encouraged to apply for the corresponding National award, via YouTube.

This year, the following performers are recognized:

GILLIAN FRASER and ATHENA NINOS

The Russ and Sylvia Jones Award

This annual award was established in 2020 to honour and recognize Russ and Sylvia Jones' skilled and dedicated contribution to the Contemporary Showcase Festival.

This year, the following performers are recognized:

TAISEI BAKKER and ROSS FRASER

Alliance for Canadian New Music Projects 20 St Joseph St, Toronto, ON M4Y 1J9



Margaret Halliwell Memoriał Award

Established in 2024 by family and friends, this award honours Margaret Halliwell, a much loved and respected teacher. Margaret was an enthusiastic supporter of Contemporary Showcase Festival. Based on recommendation of the adjudicator, this award is given to young pianists who demonstrate exceptional musicality and grace at the piano, qualities Margaret prized and cultivated among her students.

This year, the following performers are recognized:

DAIKI SEGUCHI, BENJAMIN TU and WINNIE LUO and EMILY SLAVIK

Toronto Centre Awards

Presented by Wendy Potter

Intermediate Flute
Candice Yau
Man Ki Maggie Li
Advanced Flute
Mia Liu
Junior Piano
Adelaide Narbonne
Koen Tang
Homan Yeung
Intermediate Piano
Chase Howard
Senior Piano
Megan Chen

Advanced Voice

Ashley Olah



With sincere gratitude to the Canadian Music Centre for their partnership with the ACNMP and CSF for hosting this event, and Joseph Glaser, Ontario Regional Director.